Celiac Eats at Sea….

I’ve delayed posting for weeks while traveling because a nasty spam bot attacked Word Press, creating phony, potentially troublemaking blog followers. I wasn’t sure what would occur if I posted. Luckily, Word Press has been working on the problem, mostly their security held, and WP is adding more filters. That’s good.  Now on to food…..

Almost everyone who travels enjoys indulging in local cuisine, experiencing a culture through its food, perhaps sharing a meal with locals. That same wish holds true for those of us with celiac disease; we like eating local foods during travels, but we must be super vigilant about what we choose to eat. Hidden gluten and cross contamination are real dangers for us and ingesting gluten can ruin a trip.

CELIAC AT SEA

Previously, I’ve written about cruising on Celebrity ships and the ease and safety of eating on a cruise. This trip, we sailed on the Princess line, a first for us. Eating safely on the Crown Princess was easy, once I learned the system. While I think the food in the Blu dining room on Celebrity cruise line is immeasurably better than Princess in terms of selection and quality, Princess provided decent, healthy meals if I chose carefully. Like Celebrity, Princess requested that I order the night before for the next evening’s dinner, always allowing me to add or subtract items at the time of the meal. That worked. I could always special order items, too.

IMG_1442

Smoked salmon appetizer. Yum.

IMG_1473

Gluten-free pasta with prawns in a delicious red sauce.

Mostly for lunch, we ate at the Horizon buffet. In this restaurant, under the careful oversight of chef Martin, I was well tended to. While the restaurant offered a gluten-free section on the buffet, because of concerns around cross contamination, the chef requested that I tell the kitchen which gluten-free item I wanted and someone from the kitchen would bring me the item from an uncontaminated pot. While I felt a bit like an ongoing annoyance, the staff did not seem bothered, I ate safely, and the system worked. Martin also prepared decent vegan/vegetarian gluten free curry or dal everyday so we really liked Martin.IMG_1575A Chef Martin curry

Cruises are one way of traveling that provide celiacs safe, dependable food.

Next up Celiac Eating on Land…..

Leave a comment